From Duke University Libraries. The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television
- Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository
The Al Jazeera Creative Commons Repository hosts select broadcast quality media that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses. -website
- American Black Journal: Documenting Detriot & American History from African-American Perspectives
This televsion program filmed in Detroit provides media coverage of the African American Community. 1968+ Michigan State University and Detroit Public Television collaborated on preserving the program.
- American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982
American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982 is a collection of 2,024 recordings from all five Pacifica Radio sister stations - KPFA-FM Berkeley, KPFK-FM Los Angeles, WBAI-FM New York City, KPFT-FM Houston, and WPFW-Washington, D.C. - highlighting both Pacifica's contributions to the women's movement as well as women's unique contributions to Pacifica Radio programming from 1963-1982. --website
- BBC Motion Gallery
Getty Images licences access to the BBC Motion Gallery, an unparalleled collection spanning from the first BBC broadcast in 1922 to the present day. With more than 125,000 license-ready clips to choose from plus over a million hours of footage from the BBC's Broadcast Archive available on request, this footage has to be seen. --website
- Early Visual Media
by Thomas Weynants, independent scholar. A Pictorial Media Archaeology covering pre-cinema, photography, early film, and television.
A national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures are streamed on the website. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. These background materials highlight the history and aesthetic importance of the traditions and the films.
- Internet Archive (Prelinger Archives)
Includes the Prelinger Archives (archive.org/details/prelinger), Political TV Ad Archive, Wayback Machine (website captures), CNN Transcript Collection and a Television Archive.
- The Interviews: An Oral History of Television.
In 1997, the Television Academy Foundation officially launched the Archive of American Television to capture the stories behind the making of television and preserve them for future generations.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections
Collections from the diverse resources at the Library of Congress including many photographs.
- Media History Digital Library
A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals about cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- Mike Wallace Interview
Collection of broadcasts from the the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas. Interviews from the the early 1960s broadcast features leading senators, artists, and politicians from the period.
The Fandango MOVIECLIPS channel is the largest collection of licensed movie clips on the web.
- Museum of Broadcast Communications:Video Archive
The mission of MBC is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. They offer an online archive.
- Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image advances the understanding, enjoyment, and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media by presenting exhibitions, education programs, significant moving-image works, and interpretive programs, and collecting and preserving moving-image related artifacts.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB)
Special Collections in Mass Media & Culture holds a wide-ranging collection of resources documenting the history of radio and television broadcasting. Important collections include the National Public Broadcasting Archives (NPBA) and the Library of American Broadcasting (LAB).
- NBC Learn Higher Ed
NBC Learn believes in the power of great stories - historic news reports, original video content, and current events coverage - to engage, inspire, and educate Higher Ed students.--Mission
- Television Archive
Subcollection of the Internet Archive that offers programs for research and educational purposes.
- Wharton Studio Museum
Wharton Studio Museum’s mission to preserve and celebrate the role Ithaca and the region played in the history of American filmmaking drives the organization to broaden awareness — locally, regionally and nationally — of this unique history through programming of all kinds. Also central to our mission is WSM's plan to develop the Wharton Studio Museum and Park Center in the historic Wharton Studio building in Stewart Park, one of a handful of silent film studios still standing in the country.
- Paley Center for Media
With Museums in both Los Angeles and New York City, the Paley Center for Media preserves and promotes radio, television and advertising history through events, screenings, lectures, and workshops. They collect programming, not artifacts. Formerly known as The Museum of Television & Radio.
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
Professional organization of college and university educators who study the history and creation of film, television and media. Publisher of the Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use in Teaching for Film & Media Educators
- UCLA News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection
The UCLA Film & Television Archive’s News and Public Affairs (NAPA) Collection consists of over 100,000 news programs and broadcasts taped off air from 1979 to 2003. Titles from the collection can be made available for research viewing on the UCLA campus in the Instructional Media Lab (IML), located in room 270 of the Powell Library. Viewing requests must be made in advance through the Archive Research and Study Center (ARSC).
- UCLA Library Broadcast NewsScape
The UCLA Library NewsScape contains digitized television news programs collected from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area from 2005 to the present, as well as a smaller number of news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources collected from 2004 to the present. The archive includes hundreds of thousands of hours of news programs, which are indexed and time-referenced via their closed captions and other associated metadata to enable full-text searching and interactive streaming playback.
- Understanding 9/11: A Television News Archive
From the Internet Archive this is, "a library of news coverage of the events of 9/11/2001 and their aftermath as presented by U.S. and international broadcasters. ".
- NOLA.com: Hurricane Katrina
From the Times-Picayune's website is the page devoted to Hurricane Katrina news.