#s-lib-banner-img Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

7th Grade Research: Research Basics

Your source for research information for 7th Grade

Passwords -- Remember

All of our databases are IP authenticated for on campus use.  

When using the databases from home you will need a password. 

For access to database passwords click here. 

Gale Database Searches

 

World Almanac for Kids

From home: Use Facts on File/Infobase password for access.

Encyclopedia Britannica

 

Infobase ebooks

Gale Reference e-Books

Website versus database

Click the image below to understand the difference
between a website and a database

Databases versus websites

Tips for Google Searching

  • Think about your search, what do you really need/want to know? Narrow it down. 
  • Open your results, don't just skim the snippets that appear. Check for an author and a date. Use Contol + F or Command + F to search within the article you open to find your search terms. 
  • Use advanced search options, limit by time, date, file type, language, exact phrases
  • Try these:
  • Try another search engine: Yahoo, Bing, DuckDuckGo, Ask.com

Search Term Success

Research in Context

Biography in Context

EBSCO Discovery Catalog

EBSCO Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Searching an Online Database

To Wikipedia or Not Wikipedia?

Wikipedia is a great way to access more sources, some articles have hundreds of resources and citations