All of our databases are IP authenticated for on campus use.
When using the databases from home you will need a password.
For access to database passwords click here.
Many excellent non-fiction eBooks are available in this collection. You will need a Facts on File/Infobase password to use this collection at home.
Many excellent non-fiction eBooks are available in this collection. You will need a Facts on File/Infobase password to use this collection at home.
 |
 |
Though most science research articles are copyrighted and therefore not available on the open web, the web still offers valuable information sources such as e-books, news articles, and ideas for paper or project topics.
National Academies Press makes 5652 science books available to read online. These books are technical, in depth, and hardly light reading, and most importantly, they are also quite credible. Just choose a book and click the Full Text link in the Read box to start reading.
Nature is the world's premier science journal. This site makes some of the journal's briefer "news" articles available as free, full text. The research articles are locked down by copyright though you can print off the citations (references) and look for them elsewhere. USERNAME. Library@stlukesct.org. PASSWORD newcanaan
Science is the US equivalent of Nature. It makes available some very credible science news articles on the front page of its site. USERNAME. Library@stlukesct.org. PASSWORD 377newcanaan
Science News offers readable and credible science articles on a wide variety of subjects. Most of the site is full text and requires neither subscription nor registration.
New Scientist is the British equivalent of Science News, and it too makes available comprehensible and credible full text articles that can help you find a topic, learn more about popular and current subjects, and keep up with news in science.
The New York Times has a science section which offers authoritative and readable articles on the latest news in science. The Times is a great source for overviews of science and technology current events and a great place to look for potential research topics. The Godfrey Library subscribes to the print version as well as the digital version. Stop by the library to learn how to set up your own account.
NAKED SCIENTIST
The Naked Scientists are a media-savvy group of physicians and researchers from Cambridge University who use radio, live lectures, and the Internet to strip science down to its bare essentials, and promote it to the general public.