Honors Foundations of World History: Ancient Greece

Written by two successful and practicing archaeologists, Handbook to Life in Ancient Greece, Updated Edition encompasses all aspects of ancient Greek life—from the beginnings of the Minoan civilization in Crete to the final defeat by the Roman world in 30 BCE.

Living in Ancient Greece examines all the aspects of daily life across all strata of Greek society, from the aristoi to the Metics and slaves; from food to religious beliefs. Coverage includes major Greek heroes, the mystery of oracles, festivals and their origins, fishing and farming, what Greeks ate, the training of athletes, and the importance of drama in daily life.

Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Revised Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world. More than 500 A-to-Z entries have been thoroughly reviewed and updated to reflect the most recent advances in scholarship.

"Empire of Ancient Greece, Revised Edition" chronicles the remarkable legacy of the Greeks, as well as the diversity of their societies - from the thriving democracy of Athens to the militarism of Sparta to the oligarchy of Thrace. It explores the conditions that made it possible for the ancient Greeks to develop a culture that set the foundation for our intellectual lives today, and explains why Greek power eventually declined. Everyday life in ancient Greece, from the wealthy citizens who grappled in the Olympic arena to the farmers who found 50 different ways to use olive oil, is also examined.

This book provides an excellent springboard for the study of ancient Greek history, classical literature, or sports history.

This book is essential reading for anyone interested the military history of the classical world.

Music in Ancient Greece and Rome provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of music from Homeric times to the Roman emperor Hadrian, presented in a concise and user-friendly way. Chapters include: * contexts in which music played a role * a detailed discussion of instruments * an analysis of scales, intervals and tuning * the principal types of rhythm used * and an exploration of Greek theories of harmony and acoustics. Music in Ancient Greece and Rome also contains numerous musical examples, with illustrations of ancient instruments and the methods of playing them.

In this compact yet comprehensive history of ancient Greece, Thomas R. Martin brings alive Greek civilization from its Stone Age roots to the fourth century B.C. Focusing on the development of the Greek city-state and the society, culture, and architecture of Athens in its Golden Age, Martin integrates political, military, social, and cultural history in a book that will appeal to students and general readers alike.

Covers the later phases of the Mycenaean and the Early Greek Iron Ages for many years.

An A-Z survey of Greek history, culture, and civilization from its earliest archaeological remains until the Battle of Actium (31 B.C.E.), when Greek civilization merged with Roman to become Greco-Roman civilization.

The aim of this book is to engage with the archaeological and textual data for farmsteads dating to the Classical-Hellenistic period of mainland Greece, with the purpose of understanding how these sites fulfilled agricultural roles as centres for occupation, storage, and processing for those working the land.

This volume chronicles the major events and achievements of this dynamic society and profiles some of its most notable figures. Numerous maps, illustrations, and sidebars transport the reader to the ancient, awe-inspiring past of the Hellenic Republic.

Ancient Greece follows the progress of the Greeks from the early establishment of farming communities around 6500 BCE, to the rise of the great city-states of Sparta and Athens, and on to the dissolution of the empire of Alexander the Great following his death in 323 BCE.

This volume presents compelling entries that provide definitions of important terms, biographies of central figures, and brief narratives of pivotal events that transformed ancient Greece. A comprehensive bibliography offers further avenues for research.

An A-Z survey of Greek history, culture, and civilization from its earliest archaeological remains until the Battle of Actium (31 B.C.E.), when Greek civilization merged with Roman to become Greco-Roman civilization.

This book recounts the events that were instrumental to the development of this storied civilization and the indelible legacies it has left behind. A detailed appendix supplements the narrative with in-depth discussion on the Pre-Greek societies that fueled the imagination and gave birth to an enduring body of Greek mythology.

* Over 40 documents, excerpted from the writings of ancient Greek and Roman authors, such as Plutarch's description of the banishment from Athens of a just man * A timeline of the ancient Greco-Roman world provides a chronology of important events * A glossary containing descriptions/definitions of many Greek and Roman words and terms, such as "strategos"