#s-lib-banner-img Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern World History: Home

Passwords -- Remember

All of our databases are IP authenticated for on campus use.  

When using the databases from home you will need a password. 

For access to database passwords click here. 

Reference and Tertiary Sources

Use these to begin your research, find a topic or find background and details on your topic.

High School Search

InfoBase eBooks

Many excellent non-fiction eBooks are available in this collection.  You will need a Facts on File/Infobase password to use this collection at home.

Secondary Sources -- Academic Journals, Newspapers, Magazines. 

These databases will give you newspapers, magazines, and journals, ONLY.  You should have a pretty solid handle on your topic before searching them.  Also -- remember that databases are NOT searchable as you search Google.  Need help?  Ask.

JSTOR

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Username and password found on password doc (above).

Academic One File -- journals, newspapers and magazines

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier
Limit Your Results

NYTimes -- Free Subscription

New York Times image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on the image to set up your FREE NYTimes subscription.  Use your SLS email subscription.

Databases -- Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Encyclopedias

As your research progresses, you will need these sources for additional detail.  Many of these databases also have reference (tertiary) sources, limit your search to find more scholarly sources.  

Gale -- World History in Context

Reader - new80206 - whic

World History Collection

Global Issues in Context

ABC-Clio History Databases