#s-lib-banner-img Skip to Main Content

8th Grade Research: Current Events and News Databases

Passwords -- Remember

All of our databases are IP authenticated for on campus use.

When using the databases from home you will need a password.

For access to database passwords click here.

Current Events and News

	*Access World News* is a comprehensive resource that includes hundreds of news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles plus videos. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
	*Issues and Controversies* explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education and pop culture
	*World News Digest* brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renown Facts on File World News Digest in print.
	*Opposing Viewpoints in Context* is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
	General OneFile is your one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

	EBSCO's History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. It also contains cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
	`Global Issues in Context is a media-rich, content-driven e-resource that spans the globe as a new tool to help researchers understand the world of today, which is changing at an almost incomprehensible pace.Information professionals and students designed Global Issues in Context, with contributions from subject experts from around the world, to facilitate the development of global awareness, critical-thinking and information-literacy skills.Global Issues in Context provides a balanced assortment of reference materials, video, audio, maps and more to support users in their quest for current, authoritative and reliable information on the nations and peoples of the world.`

current events news databases

Controversial Issues
Databases	Description	Primary Sources	News- papers	Magazines	Academic Journals	Full-Text Books	Media	Other
	Controversial issues from both sides.	✓	✓	✓	✓		Images Video Audio Maps	Pro / con articles
	Original reports and collected sources about a variety of global issues.	✓	✓	✓			✓
	Access World News a comprehensive resource that includes hundreds of news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide.		✓