#s-lib-banner-img Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases at the St. Luke's Library: History Databases

Passwords -- Remember

All of our databases are IP authenticated for on campus use.  

When using the databases from home you will need a password. 

For access to database passwords click here. 

JSTOR

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

Username and password found on password doc (above).

Search ALL Databases -- EBSCO Discovery Service

This search engine allows you to search ALL SLS Databases.  Check it out!

EBSCO Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

History Databases

Facts on File American History Online Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Ancient and Medieval History Online Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.  Includes biographies, events, and topics, primary sources, timelines, images and videos, maps and charts.  All full text.
Biography in Context Gale Biography in Context provides thumbnail & narrative biographies on over 500,000 people from standard library reference books. There are also full-text biographical articles from about 265 magazines.
EBSCO Biography Reference BankBiography Reference Bank offers full text articles, page images, abstracts, and articles from today's leading magazines and journals providing the most current coverage of an individual's life and work.
Gale Virtual Reference Library gives you access to eBooks that have been carefully selected by the SLS librarians to support the research projects of SLS students. There are several multi-volume history encyclopedias including Dictionary of American HistoryEncyclopedia of Latin AmericaCold War Reference LibraryAmerican Decades Primary Sources, and Encyclopedia of Religion.
EBSCO History Resource Center  History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Modern World History Online  Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from mid-15th century to the present.
U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information. It combines documents from digital archives; articles from Macmillan Reference and Charles Scribner’s Sons references; as well as other Gale content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals. 
World at War World at War Recently revised, improved, and expanded, this user-friendly database is an invaluable online resource that presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today.
World History in Context features extensive coverage of the 20th century, including the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle East and Latin America. Moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, the events that define, inform and shape world history are covered with a sense of balance.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History: The Modern Era World History: Modern Era covers the world from 1450 to the present.
World Religions World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy is a comprehensive reference source that provides a virtual textbook that covers religion across the globe.

Current and Historic Newspapers

The Listed newspapers are available below:

researchIT CT Newsstream (search all newspapers provided by ProQuest)*

Chicago Tribune (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)

CT Digital Newspaper Project (includes 14 historic CT newspapers)

Hartford Courant (1992-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Hartford Courant – Historical (1764-1922) (provided by ProQuest)*

Historical Newspapers of Connecticut (19th Century) (provided by the CT State Library)

Los Angeles Times (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Newspaper Source Plus (search all newspapers provided by EBSCO)*

New York Times (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

U.S. Major Dailies (provided by ProQuest — does not include Hartford Courant)*

Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Washington Post (1987-present) (provided by ProQuest)*