#s-lib-banner-img Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases at the St. Luke's Library: FAQs about Databases

Database FAQs

Is a database the same as a web site?
No.  Information inside of our databases are digital reprints of the content from printed books, journals, magazines and newspapers. 

How do I know what's in the database?
Use the tabs on this page to get a brief description of each SLS database. 

Will my teacher count what I find in a library databases as a website? 
No. The library databases are credible resources for research and should be distinguished from articles retrieved from websites found on the "free web". They contains the full content of books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other previously published materials.  Articles are written by scholars and journalists and are made available through reputable publishers.

How do I cite material I find in a library database?
The library subscribes to NoodleBib citation generator which can help you create citations for many kinds of resources, including items found in databses, in MLA, Chicago or APA formats.  

Can I access the library databases from off-campus?
Yes. Ask a librarian for the remote username and password you will need from an off-campus computer. If you live in CT you DO NOT need a password for databases provided through ICONN. If you live in NY, see the Library staff for access.

How is a Database different from a website?

Library databases Web sites
Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field. Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Library databases contain published works where facts are checked. Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert.
Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you. Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects. Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs.
Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication. Web sites may not indicate when a page is updated.